
Doors Open Windsor 2022
Saturday September 24 and Sunday September 25
Discover and experience Windsor’s story as told by the people and places that will be featured on this year’s Doors Open.
Take in the beauty of restorations in progress at a historical sacred space. Tour two award winning buildings that were once derelict. Go on guided walking tours of historic neighbourhoods. Get free admission to museums and cultural centres. See inside a soon-to-be decommissioned building for the last time. These are just some examples of what Doors Open Windsor offers you as a tourist for one weekend in your own city! Click here for full map view.
Please check with Windsor Essex County Health Unit for any Covid restrictions that might apply at the time of this event. www.wechu.org
Both Saturday and Sunday

Site 1: A.H. Weeks Water Treatment Plant

Site 2: Art Windsor Essex (Art Gallery of Windsor)

Site 3: Chimczuk Museum (Museum Windsor)

Site 4: Duff-Baby House

Site 5: Francois Baby House (Museum Windsor)

Site 6: Hindu Temple and Cultural Centre of Windsor

Site 7: H.M.C.S. Hunter Naval Reserve

Site 8: J.P. Wiser’s Experience at Hiram Walker & Sons Ltd

Site 9: Mackenzie Hall

Site 10: Masonic Temple

Site 11: Olde Walkerville Theatre

Site 12: Sandwich First Baptist Church

Site 13: Sandwich Towne Guided Historical Walking Tour

Site 14: Walker Power Building

Site 15: Walkerville Historical Guided Walking Tour

Site 16: Willistead Manor Coach House

Site 17: Windsor Islamic Association

Site 18: Windsor Public Library John Muir Branch
Site 1: A.H. Weeks Water Treatment Plant
3763 Wyandotte St. East
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, not wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• First water treatment plant built in 1926 by Border Cities Utilities Commission, now Windsor Utilities Commission.
• A. H. Weeks Water Treatment Plant built next to original in 1994.
• Plant purifies water using ozone process for City of Windsor, Town of LaSalle and Town of Tecumseh.
• Plant supplies water to 70,000 residences and 5,00 businesses in City of Windsor alone.
• Processes an average of 100 million litres a day, up to 200 million/day in summer.
• Original 1926 section of building is out of service and scheduled for demolition.
• Guided tours by W.U.C. staff.
Site 2: Art Windsor Essex (Art Gallery of Windsor)
401 Riverside Dr. West
2nd and 3rd Floors
Saturday 10 am - 5 pm and Sunday 11 am - 5 pm
Metered street parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• The Art Windsor Essex is an award winning organization known for its cutting-edge contemporary art program and Canadian art collections of over 4,000 works in permanent collection spread over 15,00 square feet.
• Changing exhibits and on-going displays featuring historical, modern and contemporary art.
• Examples of programs offered: Saturdays in the Studio, Gallery Tours, Taking Care: Where Art Meets Wellness, the AWE Teen Arts Council, and more!
• Dramatic glass volumes at both ends of the building create views of the city, Dieppe Park and the Detroit River
• Striking mix of stone, glass, and metal create large spaces along the exterior and interior of the building.
Site 3: Chimczuk Museum (Museum Windsor)
401 Riverside Dr. West
Main floor of Art Gallery of Windsor
Saturday 10 am - 5 pm and Sunday 11 am - 5 pm
Metered street parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• Houses permanent exhibits on the history of the Windsor area, the Original People’s Culture and legacy and the development of the City of Windsor.
• State of the art Children’s Gallery and Learning Space
• Two galleries for travelling and temporary exhibits
Site 4: Duff-Baby House
221 Mill St.
Saturday and Sunday 11 am - 4 pm
Street parking, some areas wheelchair accessible
Built: 1798 in Georgian Style
Designated: July 1977
• Built for Scottish fur trader Alexander Duff.
• Ceiling scale for furs still visible in the foyer.
• 1807 - house sold to James Baby, who it is said, entertained many famous people including Chief Tecumseh.
• 1879 - house sold to Dr. William Beasley.
• 1979 - Beasley family sold the house to the Ontario Heritage Trust, which undertook archeological studies and found thousands of artifacts which are now held by the OHT.
• 1990- exterior of the house was restored to original appearance and now houses Provincial Government Offices.
Site 5: Francois Baby House (Museum Windsor)
254 Pitt St. West
Saturday 10 am to 5 pm and Sunday 11 am - 5 pm
Metered street parking, some areas wheelchair accessible, washrooms
Built: 1812
Style: Georgian
• Designated a National Historic Site in 1950 Designated provincially in 1980.
• Built as a private home by Francois Baby, one of many French Canadian farmers who owned long ribbons of farmland.
• Served as HQ for both American and British forces during the War of 1812-14.
• 1838 - the site of the final battle of the Upper Canada rebellion.
• 1850- damaged by fire and rebuilt with the front facing Pitt Street.
• 1948-1958 reconstructed to house Windsor’s Community Museum.
• Features history of the French in the region along with many permanent and travelling exhibits.
Site 6: Hindu Temple and Cultural Centre of Windsor
7007 Enterprise Way
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair access, washrooms
• Hindu faith organization providing cultural and educational services on religious and cultural scriptures.
• Constructed in 2015, contemporary design with arched windows and doors.
• Vimana, (ornate tower) on north west corner of building added in 2019.
• Funded privately by over 1000 families in the Hindu faith community.
• Interior of building hosts areas to worship different deities where gods and goddesses are displayed on alters under arches at the front of the temple.
Site 7: H.M.C.S. Hunter Naval Reserve
90 Mill St.
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Washrooms
• Built in 2014
• Architect: GRC Architects, Ottawa
• Situated on the Detroit River, new headquarters for HMCS Hunter as of 2015.
• Named after the British vessel that served on the Great Lakes during the War 1812-14.
• Large porthole windows and a wall that tapers to form a ship’s bow.
• State of the art facility, with a capacity of 250 personnel, providing classrooms, offices, messes, storage, a boat lift and shed and parade square on the perimeter.
Site 8: J.P. Wiser’s Experience at Hiram Walker & Sons Ltd
2072 Riverside Dr. East
Saturday and Sunday 11 am - 5 pm as per LLBO regulations
Parking, partial wheelchair accessibility, washrooms
• Founded in 1858 by Hiram Walker.
• Over the years four generations of local farmers have supplied grain to the distillery.
• Currently one of the largest distilleries in North America.
• Produces more than 45 million litres of alcohol annually.
• Distillery tours- require climbing six sets of stairs.
• Tours run every 45 minutes, first come first served.
• Guests must be 19 years or older.
• Wear sturdy closed toe shoes.
• Virtual tour available for those unable to physically tour.
• Whiskey tasting for a nominal fee per LLBO regulations.
Site 9: Mackenzie Hall
3277 Sandwich St.
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Street and lot parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
Built: 1855-56
Style: Classical Revival
Designated: July 1976
• Designed and built by stonemason Alexander Mackenzie who later became Prime Minister of Canada.
• Interior features include a restored Courtroom, Judge's chambers and cell block hall.
• Served as Essex County Courthouse until 1963, then served as Essex County seat until 1975.
• Building was abandoned and threatened with demolition, but was saved by community groups including Friends of the Court and the Arts Council of Windsor and Region is now owned by the City of Windsor and serves as a Cultural Community Centre.
• Presentation on Major Masonry Restoration Project at Mackenzie Hall, Sunday @ 2:30 p.m.
Site 10: Masonic Temple
986 Ouellette Ave.
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Washrooms
• Celebrating 100 years.
• Built in 1921-22 in the Neo-Classical Revival Style with limestone trim.
• First permanent home for the Masonic Order of the Border Cities.
• The Lodge rooms where the Masons meet have dark wood furnishings dating back to 1892.
• Large ballroom was used as a dance hall in 1940’s and ’50’s hosting big bands every Saturday.
• Masons have a long history in Windsor dating back to 1794, laying the cornerstone for the original Sandwich Windmills in 1804.
• Freemasons also set the cornerstones for Windsor City Halls in the 1800’s and kept the tradition with our current City Hall.
• Masonic Temple is also home to the Windsor Learning Centre for Children with Dyslexia and International Order of Rainbow for Girls.
Site 11: Olde Walkerville Theatre
1564 Wyandotte St. East
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Metered and Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Washrooms
• Built in 1920 as a vaudeville and movie theatre.
• Designed by C. Howard Crane, one of the pre-eminent “movie palace” architects who was also a major architect for Fox movie theatres.
• Original cost $250,000 with over 1200 seats, the ultimate in comfort and safety.
• Theatre was in operation for 40 years, closed in 1963 and then sold by Famous Players in 1969.
• Available for meetings, live performance, weddings and receptions.
Site 12: Sandwich First Baptist Church
3652 Peter St.
Saturday and Sunday 1 pm - 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• Built 1851 to accommodate growing Black community as a result of migration through the Underground Railroad.
• Constructed on crown land in the former municipality of Sandwich.
• In 1995 it was designated under the Ontario Heritage Act and was given Nation Historic Site status in 1999, just one of two buildings in Windsor.
• Building is typical of many auditory hall style chambers built by the Underground Railway communities in mid -19th century Upper Canada.
• Style is simple, modest scale and limited decorative embellishments.
• Has undergone many changes, but remains and important part of Windsor’s Black Community.
Site 13: Sandwich Towne Guided Historical Walking Tour
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
• Tour starts at former Sandwich Post Office (southwest corner of Sandwich and Mill)
• Olde Sandwich Towne is one of the oldest established communities in Ontario.
• First settled in 1749 its history links to First Nations, Black, French and British settlements and the War of 1812.
• Distinct architecture includes Classical Revival, Georgian and Tudor styles as seen in roof forms, timbered detailing, brick exteriors and window and door styles.
• Prominent buildings: Duff-Baby House (1798); McGregor-Cowan House (1806); Jules-Robinet Winery Building (1895); Sandwich Post Office (1906); Sandwich Towne Hall (1912); Mackenzie Hall (1855); St. John’s Anglican Church and Cemetery (1871).
• St. Clair College Students of Architectural Technology will be your guides and will point out unique architectural features and provide information on prominent citizens who shaped the community.
Site 14: Walker Power Building
325 Devonshire Rd.
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• Originally built in 1911 and designed by J.E Kinsey who was inspired by Albert Kahn.
• Built for Hiram Walker and Sons and located near distillery.
• Accommodated many industrial and manufacturing tenants including Walkerville Light and Power.
• Renovated in 2019 after being vacant for 19 years.
• Railroad turntable from 1880’s integrated in building.
• Awarded Paul Oberon award for renovation preserving heritage features.
• Ontario Heritage Trust Award for Excellence in Conservation.
• Current tenants include architectural, engineering, law and accounting firms.
Site 15: Walkerville Historical Guided Walking Tour
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
• Tour leaves from the corner of Kildare Road and St. Mary’s Gate.
• Town of Walkerville founded in 1890 was founded by Hiram Walker, owner and maker of Canadian Club Whisky.
• Kildare Road in the heart of Walkerville was part of Walker’s “Garden City” plan.
• Neighbourhood characterized by stately homes, wide streets and abundant greenery.
• Community had many amenities including a fire brigade, police, a park, music hall, library, church, streetlights.
• Concept highlighted in curved streets, landscaped island developed for St. Mary’s Anglican Church and green expanse around Willistead Manor.
• Tour focuses on the unique architectural features of each house including decorative brickwork, roof types, window and door configurations.
• St. Clair College Students of Architectural Technology will be your guides providing information about architectural details and unique streetscape details.
Site 16: Willistead Manor Coach House
1899 Niagara St. At Kildare
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• Designed by Albert Kahn.
• Built in 1904, same time as the Manor House for Edward Chandler Walker and his wife Mary.
• Ground floor was originally a horse stable and carriage house.
• Second floor had an apartment for coachman and a hayloft.
• Given to the Town of Walkerville in 1921 and used as a police station until 1935.
• Beginning July there is a permanent exhibit about the Walker family.
• Please note: Willistead Manor House will not be available for Doors Open touring.
Site 17: Windsor Islamic Association
1320 Northwood St.
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• During Doors Open the public is warmly invited to see a display of historical information and take a guided tour of the entire mosque
• WIA was established in 1964 and serves more than 25,000 members
• Mosque was built in the mid 1970’s and expanded in 1995.
• WIA operates various Islamic social, education and charitable programs with Sunni (Orthodox) guidelines.
• Muslim members of the WIA come from 60 countries, comprising one of largest demographics in Windsor.
• As a gesture of respect, long pants, full length skirts or dresses, long sleeves and headscarves for women are encouraged.
Site 18: Windsor Public Library John Muir Branch
363 Mill St.
Saturday and Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• Built: 1921 Architect: Gilbert J.P. Jacques
• Renovated: 1945 Architect: Sheppard and Mason.
• Renovated: 2018-19. Architect: Jason Grossi.
• Originally built as Sandwich Fire Hall (1921) and horse stable (1850’s) and opened as WPL John Muir library branch 3 years ago.
• Named for John Muir prominent Sandwich community member.
• Firehall and former stable connected by walkway.
• Multi-award winning renovation.
• Guided tours by library staff.
• “The History of Firefighting” presentation by Walt McCall, Sunday @ 11 am on ground floor.
• Talk on transformation from firehall to library by Architect Jason Grossi in presentation space on library 1st floor on Sunday @ 1:30 pm main floor library branch.
• Stair climb to observation tower.
Hmm... we can’t seem to find the map
Please try again later
Saturday Only

Site 19: Assumption Church (Our Lady of Assumption)

Site 20: Bedford United Church

Site 21: Canadian Aviation Museum

Site 22: Capitol Theatre

Site 23: St. John’s Anglican Church and Cemetery

Site 24: St. Mary’s Anglican Church

Site 25: St. Peter’s Maronite Catholic Church

Site 26: St. Vladimir’s Ukrainian Orthodox Cathedral

Site 27: University of Windsor Archives and Special Collections

Site 28: Westminster United Church
Site 19: Assumption Church (Our Lady of Assumption)
350 Huron Church Rd.
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Street Parking, Wheelchair accessible, washrooms
Built: 1842-1845. Sanctuary and Bell Tower added in 1874.
Style: Gothic Revival
• Founded in 1728 to serve Huron Indians.
• Four buildings have been on current site beginning with Indian Chapel built in late 1740’s.
• Oldest Catholic Parish west of Montreal.
• Architect Robert Thomas Elliot received 10 dollars for his work.
• Focal point of interior is intricately carved pulpit which was moved from an earlier building and is the only known indigenous French Canadian carving from that period in Ontario.
• The floor tiles adorned with crosses and a fleur de lis pattern reflect French influence.
• Church has been undergoing a huge restoration project since 2019.
• Designated under the Ontario Heritage Act in 1978.
• Currently under review to be designated a Nationally Significant Historic site.
Site 20: Bedford United Church
3340 Sandwich St.
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking lot and street parking. wheelchair accessible, washrooms
Style: Renaissance Revival
Designated: May 2007
• Built in 1906-07 as a Methodist Church
• Features five separate cornerstones
• Sanctuary features gas lighting, curved wooden pews, leather covered doors and stained glass windows.
• Most famous pastor was prohibitionist J.O.L. Spracklin who famously shot and killed bar owner Beverly “Babe” Trumbell, then left town.
• 1992- congregation merged with another to form Bedford United Church
Site 21: Canadian Aviation Museum
104-2600 Airport Rd.
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• Built in 1941 to house the #7 Elementary Flying training school aspart of the British Common-Wealth Air Training Plan.
• Current projects include restoring a DeHavilland Mosquito Bomber, and maintaining the City of Windsor’s Lancaster Bomber.
• The Museum currently owns/flies a 1941 Boeing Stearman, two DeHavilland Chipmunks, a Harvard and a Fairchild 24.
Site 22: Capitol Theatre
121 University Ave. West
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Metered parking, nearby lots, some areas wheelchair accessible, washrooms
Architect: Thomas White Lamb
Style: Adam Empire - 1920
Designated: 1995
• Built as Loew’s Theatre with 1,995 seats, an orchestra pit and pipe organ.
• 1922 sold, and rebranded as the Capitol Theatre and featured vaudeville acts.
• 1929 taken over by Famous Players Cinemas.
• 1975 divided into 3 theatres, where movies were shown until 1989.
• 1990 building slated for demolition but was saved by efforts of Windsor Arts community.
• 1995 $5.5 million dollar restoration completed.
• 2007 theatre files for bankruptcy, but Arts community rallies again and it acquires ownership.
• 2012 Windsor Symphony Orchestra moves in and takes over management of theatre.
• Today: Capitol is now home to WSO, WIFF and other arts groups.
Site 23: St. John’s Anglican Church and Cemetery
3305 Sandwich St.
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Street parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
Style: Norman Gothic
Designated: 2004
• Parish established in 1796 with services held in a pine building.
• Original church built c.1803-06, burned down by retreating American forces during the War of 1812-14.
• Church was rebuilt in 1819, and added to over the years with latest addition in 1957.
• The adjoining churchyard is the oldest Anglican cemetery west of Niagara Falls.
• Many founding fathers of Sandwich are buried there.
• Grave stones go back to the late 18th century.
Site 24: St. Mary’s Anglican Church
1983 St. Mary’s Gate
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Street parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
Built: 1900-1904
Style: Perpendicular Gothic
• One of the finest of the Perpendicular Gothic style architectures in North America.
• Walls are faced with rough textured Amherstburg limestone.
• Carved gargoyle acts as a rain spout at the edge of the Chapel roof.
• East side of building the Lych Gate leads to the cemetery where many of the Walker family are buried.
• The Church was built as a gift by the sons of Hiram and Mary Walker in memory of their parents.
Site 25: St. Peter’s Maronite Catholic Church
166 Tecumseh Rd. West
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
Built: 1931
Style: Art Deco
• Believed to be the only Art Deco style church of its kind in Canada.
• Architect renowned Albert H. Lothian.
• Exterior of buff coloured bricks with intricate jagged patterns.
• Aluminum clad steeple reaching 100 feet in height is topped with cross also in aluminum.
• Interior focuses on high alter with pews radiating on three axis from alter.
• Formerly St. Clare of Assisi Roman Catholic Church, the church was threatened with demolition in late 1990’s.
• Maronite Catholic community purchased the church in 2000 and it was renamed St. Peter’s Maronite Catholic Church.
• Designated under the Ontario Heritage Act also in December 2000.
Site 26: St. Vladimir’s Ukrainian Orthodox Cathedral
2000 Tecumseh Rd. East
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• Roots of Windsor’s Orthodox Ukrainian Community began in 1927 when first divine liturgy was given by visiting priest in basement of Drouillard Road store.
• In early 1960’s the growing parish outgrew its space and a new church was designed by architect Alexander Lasso and opened in 1963.
• Elevated to Cathedral status in 1970.
• Church is a mix of modern and traditional designs, with a modern exterior but maintaining tradition with orthodox domes.
• Interior is dominated by three-tier red mahogany carved iconostasis accented with gold trim and forty-two icons.
Site 27: University of Windsor Archives and Special Collections
(In basement of the Leddy Library facing University Avenue)
401 Sunset Ave.
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Street Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• Houses unique and unusual books, images and manuscripts with a special focus on the history of Southwestern Ontario and Windsor-Essex County.
• Collections relate to sports history, automotive history, the histories of Assumption College and University of Windsor.
• Exhibit cases showcase other highlights from the collection, including historical documents from Windsor’s deep rooted Black community.
• Other much older collectibles include 17th century book about the construction of the Vatican.
• A wooden book press dating back to the 1500’s.
• Land registry records from Kent, Lambton and Essex Counties.
Site 28: Westminster United Church
1680 Dougall Ave.
Saturday 10 am - 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
• Located on this corner since 1923, first serving as a mission of St. Andrew’s Presbyterian church and then as a United church.
• Current location was once the outskirts of Windsor.
• In 1930, a large addition was built that houses the sanctuary with a built-in Casavant organ.
• Organists from Royal Canadian College of Organists will be on hand to play the historic organ.
• Ceiling features large wood trusses.
• Large 350 seat auditorium.
• Congregation and church host many community groups.
• Baked goods for sale day of Doors Open Windsor.
Sunday Only

Site 29: All Saints’ Anglican Church

Site 30: Water’s Edge Event Centre

Site 31: Windsor Grove Cemetary
Site 29: All Saints’ Anglican Church
330 City Hall Square West
Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Street Parking, Wheelchair accessible, washrooms
Built: 1855-57 Spire added in 1875
Style: Gothic Revival
• Windsor’s first Anglican Church and built to serve the needs of growing village.
• Served as a garrison church in 1866 when troops were stationed in Barrack’s Square, currently City Hall Square.
• Many of the modern wooden carvings found in the chancel were created by David Pepper, master carver.
• Unique among Anglican Churches, All Saints’ has the only known Girl Guide Chapel which is now used for small services.
• Visitors are invited to attend service at 10 am and share fellowship and tour after.
Site 30: Water’s Edge Event Centre
2879 Riverside Dr. East
Sunday 10 am- 4 pm
Parking, wheelchair accessible, washrooms
Built: 1907-13 Renaissance Revival with Classical Revival detail.
Architect: Williams Brothers
Designated: 2008
• Original church was built in 1884 , at the end of a French farmstead and was called Our Lady of the Lake.
• In 1907, the church was destroyed by fire and a new one was built and renamed Our Lady of the Rosary.
• In 2007, the Diocese of London closed the church due to declining congregation numbers.
• In 2015, the building was purchased from the Diocese for $1.00 and the interior has been repurposed as an event centre for weddings, banquets, and family celebrations.
• The stained glass windows are one of the prominent and most beautiful features of repurposed building.
Site 31: Windsor Grove Cemetary
455 Giles Blvd. East
Sunday 10 am - 4 pm
Street Parking only, no vehicle entry to cemetery, some areas wheelchair accessible, mausoleum not wheelchair accessible. (There are 3-4 steps to get in)
• Members of Ontario Ancestors will be on hand to provide information and answer questions about their work.
• Group photographs, cleans and transcribes markers in Windsor Grove Cemetery.
• Also researches many of Windsor’s early leaders and interesting people buried in Windsor Grove.
• Visitors can take self guided tours, view the inside of the mausoleum and learn how the oldest of the monuments are cleaned.
• Mausoleum has some prominent Windsor citizens interred there, for example Gordon M. McGregor, the founder of Ford Motor Company of Canada.
• Mausoleum is normally locked and only families of those interred there have a key.
Guest Speakers
Walt McCall - Author and Windsor Historian
Windsor’s Walt McCall is a self-proclaimed fire buff. Fire engines and fire fighting equipment were a side interest during his long career as a Windsor Star journalist, and later, public relations officer for Chrysler Canada. But during that time he managed to write 22 books, 10 of them about fire fighting. He is a member of the Society of Automotive Historians and a Trustee with the National Automotive History Collection of the Detroit Public Library.
Windsor Public Library - John Muir Branch - Main Floor
Sunday, September 25 @ 11 am
Jason Grossi - Architect Studio g+G
Jason Grossi of studio g+G is a multi-award winning architect, composer and coordinator of a cross-border architecture and visual arts program at the University of Windsor called Visual Arts and the Built Environment (VABE). He is the architect and heritage specialist responsible for the rehabilitation of the derelict Sandwich Firehall and stable, turning it into the John Muir Branch of the Windsor Public Library, a space worthy of national attention and accolades. During Jason's presentation he will guide visitors through the renovation process, the preservation of heritage features and the reuse of materials from familiar structures in the area.
Windsor Public Library - John Muir Branch - Main Floor
Sunday, September 25 @ 1:30 pm
Mackenzie Hall Masonry Restoration Pesentation
Once threatened by demolition in the 1980s, Mackenzie Hall (former Essex County Court House) is one of the City of Windsor's most significant heritage resources. Join us for a presentation on the conservation work conducted at the building over the years, with a focus on the recent masonry restoration project. Friends of the Court, City of Windsor project manager Brandon Calleja, and Project architect Jason Grossi will be providing a presentation indoors then guiding a walk-around the building at the end of the presentation
Mackenzie Hall - Presentation and Walk Around
Sunday, September 25 @ 2:30 pm